Unplanned Fun in GW2

I find myself feeling a little like I have ADD when I play GW2. Which is to say, there are so many distractions, that often I decide to do something and get partway through before something else comes up. This is a good thing.

Last night I was mucking about on my Ranger in Gendarran Fields, when I found an entrance to a cave. There weren’t any points of interest, or skill challenges, or vistas inside according to my map. There wasn’t really any reason to go in, but it looked interesting, so I headed in anyhow.

The cave was filled with trolls, as it happened. Well, I started carving my way in, and as I got deeper, I saw some other players also fighting trolls down some side tunnels. I helped them out a bit as I passed, as I’m wont to do, and soon enough I came to the end of the cave. An asura engineer and I saw that the cave had a resident boss; a champion cave troll. As we pondered whether to attack, a human Elementalist arrived. The three of us looked around for a few seconds, and the asura commented that we’d all probably die. But what the hell; I attacked.

What followed was about five minutes of sheer epic awesomeness. One more player joined us partway through, thankfully, as it was a close fight indeed. The asura went down I think three times, and each time I managed to pull the champion away with my pet and heal the engineer while he was still downed. The fight was very challenging but in the end we were all standing over the champion’s corpse, congratulating each other on a job well done.

There was no group. Nobody invited anyone else. There was no artificial social barrier that prevented us from just naturally working together as people would do in real life. The game allowed us all to simply work together without having to work through any artificial mechanics to do so.

And it was glorious.

2 comments so far

  1. Bronte on

    Wow… that actually sounds amazing… The true definition of emergent gameplay. I am getting increasingly convinced that GW2 needs to be tried out.

  2. […] the sound of it (thanks, Yeebo, Rowan x 2, Syp and Syl, I can’t recommend your articles enough), the social scene in Guild […]


Leave a comment